Something out of the blue

An eternity ago I posted pictures of my Fantastic Four figures and Dr Doom.  Well, a couple of weekends ago Dan was down and we were having a lazy Sunday afternoon talking about the usual important stuff and I picked up some figures and started to paint.

When it comes to comics my absolute favourite is the original X-Men, later re-united as X-Factor which is the title I collected as a young teenager. I have a real love for these characters, but got lost in the 1990s when scripting started to deteriorate and it seemed you needed to collect 17 books to keep up with what was going on.  Then, a few years ago I discovered Astonishing X-Men.  I would say that Joss Whedon’s writing revitalised the X-franchise for me completely.  I loved the direction things had taken with the team, and this became my favourite superhero comic run since the late 1980s.

And so, I have begun to put together the astonishing X-Men team, starting with Cyclops (my favourite superhero character ever), Emma Frost (who would have to be one of the sexiest comic book characters ever) and Shadowcat.  Although the Heroclix figures were not in the correct costumes, I painted over them with the more modern versions of their costumes (it hurt to give Emma long pants…).

I’m not a fan of the way Heroclix sculpts the faces of the women.  The foreheads are too short and the faces feel squashed.  Cyke’s old costume had raised detail which is usually not that noticeable but seems to really come though in the photo.  Otherwise I’m happy with how the repaints turned out.

Here’s a close up of Cyke and Emma.  As always, you can click on the pictures for a larger view.

Colossus, Beast, Wolverine and Magneto are currently on the painting tray.

Nate

By Natholeon Posted in Comics

Leave a Reply

