The beginning of the 1973 Israelis

I’m finally finding a bit of a painting groove, and the Israelis are beginning to roll off the production line. First up are six M113 APCs and 3 M48s.  All vehicles are from Command Decision’s (Old Glory 25s) post-war US range.  The initial order was for plain M113s but for some reason we were sent the flamethrower version.  Living so far away from the US I didn’t want to make a fuss, so I’ve added Battlefront .50 cals to them and not gone with the turret option.

As far as Israeli vehicles go, neither tank is quite correct.  I’m thinking of buying up some extra stowage for them just to give them that ‘rough’n’ready’ Israeli look.  The M48 is equipped with the US 90mm gun rather than the upgunned British 105mm of the Magach 3.  I pondered the possibility of scratch-building a 105mm barrel for them, but in the end left the original as I couldn’t guarantee making a decent job of it.  I’m not particularly anal in this respect as I am sure many would be.  Whilst I do have standards (I would never field a Tiger tank as a proxy for a Centurion for instance), when it comes to a slightly different barrel, I’ll wear the complaints of the wargames fashion police.

So here they are:

The aerials are nylon bristles off an old brush and dustpan set.  Nice and strong.

The terrain boards were originally built by Dan and I a few years ago for Legends of the Old West games and consist of 6mm MDF with scattered rocks all painted and a drybrush over the top.  However we only have a 4’x4′ surface and an 8′ x 4′ table that I would like to be able to use in its entirety.  I’m not sure whether I want to build another two boards that are identical, or buy a cloth and spraypaint darker patches on it as a base.  A cloth is very easily stored and simple to transport, so that is in its favour.  These boards have been pretty durable, though and I have the paint to be able to construct matching modular hills.  I’ll have to mull it over some more.

Even though I’m concentrating on Flames of War at the moment I couldn’t resist painting a test unit of Principes and Hastati for my Mid-Republican Roman Field of Glory army.

Many years ago I interloaned Charles S Grant’s Wargames Scenarios book from my library.  It had 52 scenarios for wargamers and I remember being very impressed by the variety, even though at that stage I didn’t have any intact armies that weren’t Warhammer 40,000.  I’ve been wanting to get hold of a copy, and this month I finally bought Scenarios for all ages by Grant and Stuart Asquith.  With my multitude of periods I feel that I might finally be able to carry out a secret ambition – to play one scenario a week from 1 through to 52 throughout the space of one year.  I’m hoping to have my FoW armies finished within the next couple of months, and the FoG armies not long after, so 2012 could be the year. Better get painting…

Finally, just a thought for all the people in Christchurch who have been experiencing a living nightmare over the last couple of days.  My wife has family down there and I know that Dan has a lot of friends, so I wish them all the very best as they try to rebuild after the earthquake.

Nate

One comment on “The beginning of the 1973 Israelis

Leave a Reply

