The Superhero project

I’ve been putting up the odd blog post with pictures of repainted and rebased Heroclix for a while now.  But I haven’t seriously worked out what the hell I was going to do with these figures.  I decided against Heroclix own rules fairly early on, and as I have now thrown out all the old bases, it is too late to go back.  I have Supersystem, which has been heartily recommended by a number of people online, but I really need to do a couple of playtests to work out how they go.  The final option is to write my own rules based around the stats that are in the revised Marvel Universe handbook.  My biggest issue is that I’m just not sure whether I want to play this solo or with an opponent, and what it is that I am trying to achieve.  Do I just want a stand up slug fest, or do I want a lot of narrative and role-playing?  I’ll continue to ponder…

Meanwhile, here are some photos of my Superhero collection as it stands at the moment:

First up is Alpha Flight and the X-Men.  I’ve repainted and rebased quite a few of the mutants, as they are my nostalgic favourites.  Jean looks like she is about to clobber Cyclops who only has an eye for Emma (who is half out of shot).

Next up are the Brotherhood of sometimes evil mutants, plus a couple of Marauders, followed by the FF and some of their villains.  You can tell from this picture that I’ve repainted the Blob and Magneto, and of course I’ve already posted the Fantastic Four (my second favourite comic as a teenager).  The Wizard is picking fleas out of Annihilus’ wings I think.

Moving on and here are some more of the FF’s baddies, followed by Spiderman and his rogue’s gallery.  Doom is a repaint, the flash was a little too much for Mole Man and he is walking off in another direction.

The Masters of Evil.  I remember reading the issues with the siege and destruction of Avengers’ Mansion by the MoE.  I’m afraid I completely missed the years when they reformed and became the Thunderbolts.  What a silly name.  Masters of Evil was so much classier.  I’m missing the Absorbing Man, but don’t worry, he has been ordered and is on his way!

Avengers’ rogues gallery continued.  I love Korvac.  The Avengers was a very cool comic when Shooter was writing it, and there is something about Korvac that just resonates with me.  Of course he is pretty powerful, so a game will consist of everyone showing up to his house and being obliterated, but them’s the breaks.  To the right are Power Pack.  You either love these kids or you hate them.  Or you’ve never heard of them.  But for me, if it had not been for the Pack, I would not have started reading X-Men, then X-Factor and then Fantastic Four, Thor, Avengers etc ad infinitum.  The Power brats had their stories retold as the backup strip in the UK weekly Return of the Jedi comic, and this soon became my favourite story rather than the Star Wars stuff (fair enough, those Star Wars stories were pretty naff).  Power Pack met the X-Men and FF and it was this little exposure that made me look into these other comics.  Thanks Power Pack!  I promise that your first adventure won’t be visiting Korvac’s house…

Finally we have the Defenders and the Avengers.  Thor is the only chap to have a repaint here, but then his movie was better than anyone else (although 3D is SUCH a rip-off gimmick!).  I’ve ordered a different Cap – this one was bought to fight Weird War Two games, but just doesn’t look right without those ridiculous little wings on the side of his head.

SO that is the collection, although Thanos is on his way too (maybe he and Korvac could have a tea party).  All these toys and no real plan for how to use them.  I’d be happy to hear from people recommending rules systems, I’ll try to have a test game of Supersystem and see how it goes.

Nate

Leave a Reply

