Plastic progress

Warhammer Historical’s Waterloo has inspired me.  I get the feeling that this is a Napoleonic project that will get finished – a case of seventh time lucky!  This isn’t just based on blind optimism, but the fact that I only need six units for a whole army!  Of course this will expand when I make it to the required minimum, but it is being able to reach a playable army size relatively quickly that will ensure I don’t give up and move on too quickly.

Here are my first 2 elements, some Perry Plastic light infantry for my 1er Legere:

This was an interesting painting project.  First of all, I had given some of these guys a white undercoat, and some a black undercoat.  The white undercoat figures were definitely more labour intensive, but my original plan had been for them to be part of a Ligne battalion with white trousers, so I thought that white would be a sensible base coat.  I used the dip only after I had painted everything, and then went back over some of the white areas (the officer’s trousers) as a highlight.  This worked quite well.  But my thoughts for the future are to use neither black nor white and to go with a grey undercoat.  This is the technique suggested in the rulebook, and I think that it is worth a try.

For the first time ever I decided that I would not paint eyes on the figures.  A close up is below.  I don’t think I have lost anything really:

I painted these chaps in the last week as a bit of a trial run, but previously I had managed to finish half a French battalion for the War of Spanish Succession.  This is the Regiment Tourville, because my daughter liked this flag better than the other options I gave her:

The flag is made out of a piece of an old sheet, and the paint stiffened it enough for it to have a slight fold.

As much as I like these figures, the Marlburian project is on the backburner until the initial Napoleonics are finished.  I also have to finish off my last two units for my Flames of War Soviet army, and then I will do a photo essay blog entry on the whole host.  Then into my US FoW army, and slowly my modern Brits and Taliban for Force on Force.  The latter will be a total immersion project where I paint the figures, terrain and play the game hard out to get a grip on the rules, so in a couple of months time when school holidays are here it will probably be ready.  But for now, here is my first almost completed 15mm Command Decision WMIK:

In the mean time I’ve been rewatching Ross Kemp, reading War by Sebastian Junger and have 3 Para ready for when that is finished.  I have to say that I’m looking forward to this one immensely.  Looks like 2012 will be the year of Waterloo and Afghanistan.

 

4 comments on “Plastic progress

  1. The Napoleonic’s look very nice, I gave up painting eyes on 25mm figs, they take so long to do and always seem to look like Marty Feldman, well they do when I paint them anyway, keep it coming!!!

  2. Nice work Nate.
    You’re like me, several periods and scales on the go at once. Paint grasshopper!
    I’m trying to do Black Powder armies for ACW, Napoleonics and WSS at the same time…
    I am busy trying to finish off some Perry ACW I started a while back and for the first time I am considering not doing the eyes…. I think its the Perry sculpts, the features are quite small, compared to say Foundry.

  3. Thanks guys. Yeah, I feel like I have cheated a little by not painting eyes, but to be honest it is almost un-noticeable when they are on the table. As I’m using dips for shading as well, I’m finding that my painting is speeding up a lot. That has to be a good thing.

    And Al, I’m planning to do the Royal Marines, but 3 Para is the book that was recommended to read for the British experience in Afghanistan.

Leave a Reply

